Disaster Unemployment, FEMA Aid Opens for Four Texas Counties

Due to a presidential order being posted, residents of Harris, Fayette, Grimes, and Parker counties can apply for several types of disaster assistance.

FEMA is now accepting applications for disaster assistance for the Texas Severe Storms and Flooding that occurred April 17-24, 2016. You can apply for FEMA aid online at disasterassistance.gov, by phone (By phone at 800-621-3362–711 or Video Relay Service is available–or at 800-462-7585 for TTY), or in person at a Disaster Recovery Center.

According to a Texas Workforce Press Release, “Workers who lost their jobs and self-employed individuals who have been unable to work due to storms in Fayette, Grimes, Harris and Parker counties may apply” for Disaster Unemployment Aid.

Airboat travels on water over a city street.
If you didn’t have one of these nifty vehicles and couldn’t work because of flooding, you may qualify for disaster unemployment benefits. photo credit: Sheriff’s Air Boat via photopin (license)
Applications must be submitted by May 27, 2016.
Individuals affected by the severe storms in these counties can apply for benefits online through Unemployment Benefit Services or by calling a TWC Tele-Center, Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. at 800-939-6631.
Individuals should specify that their applications are related to the damage caused by severe storms and flooding in one of the counties listed in the disaster declaration.

One thought on “Disaster Unemployment, FEMA Aid Opens for Four Texas Counties

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s